WordPress is obviously a great multi-user CMS and ideal for schools, but one thing that can be a little unsettling for some users is that by default the media library is shared.
Going to the media library to add a new image or document can be a little confusing when there are dozens or even hundreds of files already uploaded. Often an inexperienced user will find themselves wondering how all those files got there. Even for experienced users, searching through everyone’s uploads to find their own can add a little bit of extra work that they don’t need.
Fortunately, there is a plugin called WP Users Media that can prevent users from seeing files uploaded by other users in the media library.
In a site that has just a few different people authoring content, keeping user media libraries separate makes for a much simpler and user-friendly experience.
Once the plugin has been installed and activated, go Settings > WP Users Media where you can choose the user roles that the plugin will apply to. A good starting point is just to enable it for all user types.
The screenshots below show the plugin in action.